Sanders declares tornado disaster area

The Mainline town of Montrose in Ashley County was most affected by the Jan. 2 storm, where an EF2 tornado damaged 28 homes, destroying four and severely damaging 16 others.

Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders signed an executive order Friday declaring that the portion of Ashley County affected by the Jan. 2 tornado was officially a disaster area.

Five other counties — Arkansas, Clay, Garland, Lincoln and Phillips counties — were included in the declaration.

With the issuance of a disaster declaration, the governor authorized that up to $1,189,600 in funds from the Governor’s Response and Recovery Fund (GRRF) could be used in the Individual Assistance Program “to provide supplemental disaster relief” in Ashley, Arkansas, Garland, Lincoln and Phillips counties.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.